Skip to main content


Planning and Zoning

County Planning, Zoning and Development Officials

  • Enforce zoning regulations and investigate violations
  • Issue permits and review requests for land use changes
  • Provide support to the Planning Commission, Board of Adjustment and County Board

Year Organized


Mission Statement

To encourage the process of county planning throughout Nebraska; to strengthen the communication and working relation among county planners, zoning administrators, development officials and county officials; to provide a forum through which the membership may exchange ideas and experiences related to county planning, zoning and development through meetings, publications and correspondence; to provide a method of identifying common problems and determining alternative solutions in the administration of county planning, zoning and development; and to provide an opportunity to review existing and proposed legislation relative to county planning, zoning and development activities.

Annual Meetings

NACO Conference

Executive Officers

President Judy Mignery Adams County
Vice President Kent Holm Douglas County
Secretary/Treasurer Cherri Klinginsmith Howard County

Related Links
Nebraska Planning and Zoning Association
American Planning Association
Federal Emergency Management Agency