Skip to main content

Award Recipients

County Official of the Year

Each year the Nebraska Association of County Officials bestows awards to individuals who have distinguished themselves as public officials. The County Official of the Year Award is the highest honor an elected or appointed county official can receive.


Jefferson County Commissioner Mark Schoenrock receives the 2023 County Official of the Year award from NACO President J.R. Houser during the NACO Business meeting on December 15, 2023.

County Official of the Year Recipients

Year Recipient, County, Office Year Recipient, County, Office
2023 Mark Schoenrock, Jefferson County Commissioner 2022 Deb Schorr, Lancaster County Commissioner
2021 Karey Adamy, Butler County Treasurer 2020 Keith Buschow Webster County Commissioner
2019 Barb Swanson, Polk County Treasurer 2018 Jean Sidwell, Buffalo County Treasurer
2017 Travis Hobbs, Brown County Clerk 2016 Sherry Schweitzer, Seward County Clerk
2015 Neil Miller, Buffalo County Sheriff 2014 Patrick Duncan, Franklin County Attorney
2013 Don Thomas, Lancaster County Engineer 2012 David Walton, Franklin County Supervisor
2011 Deb Houghtaling, arpy County Clerk 2010 Joan Ackland, Fillmore County Assessor
2009 Ruth Jackson, Franklin County Assessor 2008 Richard Wassinger, Cass County Treasurer
2007 Nancy Scheer, Madison County Clerk 2006 Pat Osterbuhr, Kearney County Clerk
2005 Pam Miller, Dakota County Commissioner 2004 Henry R "Hank" Thieman, Boone County Commissioner
2003 Fred Mytty, Dodge County Clerk 2002 Lorraine Dexter, Merrick County Assessor
2001 Bette Tatman, Lincoln County Register of Deeds 2000 Janet Hajny, Clay County Clerk
1999 Bob Zoucha, Boone County Clerk 1998 Irene Abernathy, Hall County Supervisor
1997 Richard Anderson, Pierce County Treasurer 1996 Vera Dulaney, Scotts Bluff County Clerk
1995 H. Nadine Heath, Lincoln County Clerk 1994 Becky Richter, Hamilton County Clerk
1993 Charlene Marchand, Sarpy County District Court Clerk 1992 Mary Jo Ellis, Scotts Bluff County Register of Deeds
1991 Paul M. Kemling, Hamilton County Commissioner 1990 Leslie Stull, Box Butte County Commissioner
1989 Kermit O. Pearson, Dawson County Treasurer 1988 Cora Mahoney, Logan County Clerk
1987 Anita Hawes, Adams County Clerk 1986 Janet Edwards, Howard County Assessor
1985 Charles Egr, Saunders County Clerk 1984 JoAnn Rohrs, Nemaha County Clerk
1983 Ruby Hays, Furnas County Assessor 1982 Robert Downer, Banner County Clerk
1981 Dale Frizzel, Polk County Clerk 1980 Floyd Vrtiska, Pawnee County Commissioner
1979 Willard Foster, Fillmore County Clerk