Skip to main content

Nebraska Counties Explorer

Banner County

Banner County Seat (pop.): Harrisburg (100)

Courthouse Address and Hours:

204 State Street
Harrisburg, Nebraska 69345
M-F 7:30 am - 12:00pm; 12:30 pm - 4:30pm

County Board Chairperson: Robin Darnall

Complete list of county board members

County Board Meetings: 1st & 3rd Tuesday

View the County's Government Maps

Visit the County Fairgrounds

NACO District: Panhandle

District President: Charlie Knapper, Scotts Bluff County Commissioner

District Vice President: Monty Stoddard, Banner County Treasurer

District Secretary: Kelly Sides, Scotts Bluff County Clerk

District Treasurer: Beth Fiegenschuh, Cheyenne County Clerk

NACO Board Representative: Charlie Knapper, Scotts Bluff County Commissioner

Click for a live look at Banner County (east of Harrisburg)


Population: 692
Land area (sq. mi.): 746.04
Population per square mile: 0.9


White: 89.9%
African American: 1.7%
American Indian: 0.6%
Asian: 0.3%
Hispanic: 7.2%
Native Hawaiian and Pacific Islander: 0.0%


0-17: 24.7%
18-64: 51.4%
65+: 23.8%


Personal income per capita: $68,909
% of population in poverty: 10.1%
# of housing units: 326
Owner-occupied rate: 69.2%
Median home price: $204,220


Access to broadband (100 Mbps via fiber or cable model): 0%

Sources: National Association of RealtorsNebraska Library CommissionU.S. Bureau of Economic AnalysisU.S. Census Bureau

Employment and Schools

Unemployment rate: 3.4% (as of September 2022)

County Employment Website:

High school graduate or higher: 97.2%

Bachelor's degree or higher: 26.7%

School Districts: Banner County Public Schools, Bayard Public Schools, Potter-Dix Public Schools

Banner County Economy

Annual Gross Domestic Product (2020): $38,416,000

Ag. Producers (Cattle): 100

Ag. Producers (Crop): 59

Electricity Providers: Chimney Rock PPD, High West Energy, Roosevelt PPD, Wheat Belt PPD, Wyrulec Company

Sources: National Agricultural Statistics Service (USDA)Nebraska Cooperative Council, Nebraska Coordinating Commission for Postsecondary EducationNebraska Department of TransportationNebraska Office of the CIO, Nebraska Power Review Board, U.S. Bureau of Economic AnalysisU.S. Bureau of Labor StatisticsU.S. Census Bureau

2022 Levies and Valuations

County levy rate: $0.4274 per $100 of taxable valuation

County property taxes levied: $1,200,433

Total local government property taxes levied: $4,191,875

Total countywide taxable valuation: $280,887,755

Click here for all levy rates in Banner County

County Levy and Taxation Laws

Levy limits

Since 1996, counties and other political subdivisions have been subject to the levy limits listed in Neb. Rev. Stat. § 77-3442 and Neb. Rev. Stat. § 77-3443.

Statutes and regulations

Nebraska Revised Statutes (Chapter 77)

Nebraska Administrative Code (Title 350)

Local tax reductions, exemptions, and credits:

Neb. Rev. Stat. § 76-902(5)(a) (Deed "stamp tax" exemption): "The [stamp tax] shall not apply to: ... (5)(a) Deeds between spouses, between ex-spouses for the purpose of conveying any rights to property acquired or held during the marriage, or between parent and child, without actual consideration therefor."

Neb. Rev. Stat. § 77-201(2) (Agricultural land horticultural assessment): "Agricultural land and horticultural land as defined in section 77-1359 shall constitute a separate and distinct class of property for purposes of property taxation, shall be subject to taxation, unless expressly exempt from taxation, and shall be valued at seventy-five percent of its actual value, except that for school district taxes levied to pay the principal and interest on bonds that are approved by a vote of the people on or after January 1, 2022, such land shall be valued at fifty percent of its actual value."

Neb. Rev. Stat. § 77-6703(1) (Tax credit for school district taxes paid): "(1) For taxable years beginning or deemed to begin on or after January 1, 2020, under the Internal Revenue Code of 1986, as amended, there shall be allowed to each eligible taxpayer a refundable credit against the income tax imposed by the Nebraska Revenue Act of 1967 or against the franchise tax imposed by sections 77-3801 to 77-3807. The credit shall be equal to the credit percentage for the taxable year, as set by the department under subsection (2) of this section, multiplied by the amount of school district taxes paid by the eligible taxpayer during such taxable year."

Sources: Nebraska Department of Revenue

State Senator: Brian Hardin (District 48)
Committees: Appropriations, Nebraska Retirement Systems, Reference, Building Maintenance, Executive Board, Legislative Performance Audit, Legislature's Planning Committee, Economic Recovery Special Committee

Map and statistics for Legislative District 48

Map of all districts in the Nebraska Unicameral Legislature

Banner County History

Number of Registered Historic Places: 1

Year Founded: 1888

Etymology: Aspiration to become the “banner county” of Nebraska

According to tradition, Banner County derives its name from the aspirations of the inhabitants to become the "banner county" of Nebraska. The area that today makes up Banner County was originally part of Cheyenne County, then much larger. In 1888, Banner, Kimball, and Scotts Bluff Counties were carved out of the western third of Cheyenne County. The county seal features a banner bearing a pumpkin, named for Pumpkin Creek which crosses the county west to east. Banner County was officially organized in 1889, and residents designated Ashford the temporary county seat. A month later, a special election was held in which Harrisburg was chosen as the county seat over Ashford, Banner, and Freeport. 

Banner County is home to the C.C. Hampton Homestead (also known as Warner Ranch), listed on the National Register of Historical Places. Hampton was a farmer who advocated for water conservation in the late 19th and early 20th centuries; he also promoted windmills and farming in a predominantly ranching county.

Highlight an important program in your county in this space! Send an email to:

License Plate Number: 85

Time Zone: Mountain

Zoned County: No

Number of Veterans: 50

Voter Turnout (2022): 69.71%

Emergency Mgt. Planning, Exercise and Training (PET) Region: Panhandle

Number of County-Owned Bridges: 12

State Lands (acres): Buffalo Creek WMA (4,141.32 Banner & Scotts Bluff), Williams Gap WMA (1,829)

Sources: Nebraska Department of Transportation, Nebraska Emergency Management AgencyNebraska Game & Parks CommissionNebraska LegislatureNebraska Office of the CIONebraska Secretary of StateU.S. Department of Veterans Affairs, U.S. National Archives and Records Administration (eCFR)