Skip to main content

Nebraska Counties Explorer

Furnas County

Furnas County Seat (pop.): Beaver City (537)

Cities, Towns, and Villages (pop.): Arapahoe (1,002), Cambridge (1,071), Edison (111), Hendley (20), Holbrook (201), Oxford (718), Wilsonville (75)

Courthouse Address and Hours:

912 R Street
Beaver City, Nebraska 68926
M-F 8:00 am - 4:00 pm

County Board Chairperson: Mike Sexton

Complete list of county board members

County Board Meetings: 2nd & 4th Tuesday

View the County's Government Maps

Visit the County Fairgrounds

NACO District: West Central

District President: Brett Nason, McPherson County Commissioner

District First Vice President: Corey Crandall, Keith County Commissioner

District Second Vice President: Ron Wertz, Hitchcock County Commissioner

District Secretary/Treasurer: Katherine Hoberg, McPherson County Clerk

NACO Board Representatives: Corey Crandall, Keith County Commissioner

Click for a live look at Furnas County (west of Wilsonville)


Population: 4,604
Land area (sq. mi.): 719.13
Population per square mile: 6.4


White: 92.1%
African American: 0.9%
American Indian: 0.8%
Asian: 0.4%
Hispanic: 5.0%
Native Hawaiian and Pacific Islander: 0.0%


0-17: 23.5%
18-64: 57.7%
65+: 18.8%


Personal income per capita: $59,961
% of Population in Poverty: 10.0%
# of Housing Units: 2,520
Owner-occupied rate: 79.1%
Median home price: $87,050


Access to broadband (100 Mbps via fiber or cable modem): 57.9%

Sources: National Association of RealtorsNebraska Library Commission, U.S. Bureau of Economic AnalysisU.S. Census Bureau

Employment, Schools, and Child Care

Unemployment rate: 1.7% (as of September 2022)

County Employment Website:

High school graduate or higher: 89.7%

Bachelor's degree or higher: 19.0%

School Districts: Alma Public Schools, Arapahoe Public Schools, Cambridge Public Schools, Southern Valley Schools, Southwest Public Schools

Countywide child care capacity: 13 providers; 163 children

Find child care: For a list of child care providers in your zip code, visit Nebraska DHHS or the Nebraska Resource and Referral System.

Furnas County Economy

Annual Gross Domestic Product (2020): $266,761,000

Ag. Producers (Cattle): 170

Ag. Producers (Crop): 135

Grain Co-ops and Purchasers: Ag Valley

Local Grain Market: Click for today's grain prices in Furnas County

Electricity Providers: City of Arapahoe, City of Beaver City, City of Cambridge, Twin Valleys PPD, Village of Oxford

Rail-served Communities: Arapahoe, Beaver City, Cambridge, Edison, Hendley, Holbrook, Oxford, Wilsonville

Sources: National Agricultural Statistics Service (USDA), Nebraska Cooperative Council, Nebraska Coordinating Commission for Postsecondary EducationNebraska Department of TransportationNebraska Office of the CIO, Nebraska Power Review Board, U.S. Bureau of Economic AnalysisU.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics, U.S. Census Bureau

2022 Levies and Valuation

County levy rate: $0.3312 per $100 of taxable valuation

County property taxes levied: $3,308,908

Total local government property taxes levied: $14,822,014

Total countywide taxable valuation: $998,961,482

Click here for all levy rates in Furnas County

County Levy and Taxation Laws

Levy limits

Since 1996, counties and other political subdivisions have been subject to the levy limits listed in Neb. Rev. Stat. § 77-3442 and Neb. Rev. Stat. § 77-3443.

Statutes and regulations

Nebraska Revised Statutes (Chapter 77)

Nebraska Administrative Code (Title 350)

Local tax reductions, exemptions, and credits:

Neb. Rev. Stat. § 76-902(5)(a) (Deed "stamp tax" exemption): "The [stamp tax] shall not apply to: ... (5)(a) Deeds between spouses, between ex-spouses for the purpose of conveying any rights to property acquired or held during the marriage, or between parent and child, without actual consideration therefor."

Neb. Rev. Stat. § 77-201(2) (Valuation of agricultural land and horticultural land): "Agricultural land and horticultural land as defined in section 77-1359 shall constitute a separate and distinct class of property for purposes of property taxation, shall be subject to taxation, unless expressly exempt from taxation, and shall be valued at seventy-five percent of its actual value, except that for school district taxes levied to pay the principal and interest on bonds that are approved by a vote of the people on or after January 1, 2022, such land shall be valued at fifty percent of its actual value."

Neb. Rev. Stat. § 77-6703(1) (Tax credit for school district taxes paid): "(1) For taxable years beginning or deemed to begin on or after January 1, 2020, under the Internal Revenue Code of 1986, as amended, there shall be allowed to each eligible taxpayer a refundable credit against the income tax imposed by the Nebraska Revenue Act of 1967 or against the franchise tax imposed by sections 77-3801 to 77-3807. The credit shall be equal to the credit percentage for the taxable year, as set by the department under subsection (2) of this section, multiplied by the amount of school district taxes paid by the eligible taxpayer during such taxable year."

Sources: Nebraska Department of Revenue

State Senator: Dave Murman (District 38)
Committees: Education, Revenue, Committee on Committees

Map and statistics for Legislative District 38

Map of all districts in the Nebraska Unicameral Legislature

Furnas County History

Number of Registered Historic Places: 2

Year Authorized: 1873

Year Organized: 1873

Etymology: Robert Furnas (Nebraska's 2nd governor)

     When Furnas County was founded in 1873, it already featured several growing communities, and the race for the county seat came down to two towns: Beaver City and Arapahoe. As with so many things in Nebraska, the election was influenced by weather. Despite being held in April, the election was marred by a snowstorm that prevented the ballots from Beaver City from being delivered and filed with the Secretary of State’s office. The Secretary of State excluded the Beaver City ballots, certified the election, and declared Arapahoe the winner. The victory was short-lived. A series of lawsuits and court orders quickly followed the election and lasted three years before Beaver City triumphed and claimed the county seat. Remarkably, dissension last another decade until a courthouse was built in Beaver City in 1888, cementing its place as the Furnas County seat.

     Furnas County is home to several colorful appellations, both past and present. While some namesakes are straightforward (e.g., Arapahoe named for the Native American tribe and Beaver City named for the abundant colonies of beavers in the area), some are more nuanced. Cambridge was originally called Pickletown, named after a J.A. Pickle, who platted the town. Pickle wanted to call the town Northwood, while others offered Scratchpot City and Lickskillet as suggestions. Wilsonville, named after two local merchants, was originally called Wild Turkey. Some former post offices were called Coldwater, Dudgeon, and Medicine Creek, while a local tributary was formerly known as Stealing Horse Creek. In more direct homage, the county's name pays tribute to the governor at the time, Robert Furnas.

Highlight an important program in your county in this space! Send an email to:

License Plate Number: 38

Time Zone: Central

Zoned County: Yes

Number of Veterans: 352

Voter Turnout (2022): 55.18%

Emergency Mgt. Planning, Exercise and Training (PET) Region: Southwest

Number of County-Owned Bridges: 100

Number of County-Owned Dams: 6

State Lands (acres): Burton's Bend WMA (77 Furnas, Harlan & Red Willow), Cambridge Diversion Dam (20), Oxford WMA (36)

Federal Lands (acres): Kenesaw WPA (231), Weseman WPA (163)

Sources: Nebraska Department of Transportation, Nebraska Emergency Management AgencyNebraska Game & Parks CommissionNebraska LegislatureNebraska Office of the CIONebraska Secretary of StateU.S. Department of Veterans Affairs, U.S. National Archives and Records Administration (eCFR)