Skip to main content

Nebraska Counties Explorer

Kimball County

Cities, Towns, and Villages

County Seat: Kimball



Courthouse Address and Hours:
114 East 3rd Street
Kimball, Nebraska 69145
M-Th 8:00 am - 5:00 pm & 8:00 am - 4:00 pm Friday

Chairperson: Larry Engstrom

Senator: Brian Hardin

Board Meetings: 1st & 3rd Tuesday

Population: 3,412
View Additional Census Data


An election held Nov. 6, 1888 resulted in the western third of Cheyenne County being split to form Kimball, Banner and Scotts Bluff Counties. Following the election, Kimball County was organized and named in honor of Thomas L. Kimball, vice president and general manager of the Union Pacific Railroad.

As the railroad passed through this area in the 1860s, a settlement named Antelopeville sprang up. It was named as such because of the prevalence of antelope in the area. When attempts were made to recognize a post office as Antelope, it was discovered there was already a post office in the state by that name. So in 1885 the name of the townsite was changed to Kimball and it became the county seat.

Kimball County possesses many distinctive features. It is home to the highest elevation in the state -- Panorama Point which is 5,424 feet and located in the southwest corner of the county near where Nebraska, Colorado and Wyoming intersect. At one time, Kimball County was home to the world's largest complex of I.C.B.M. Minute Man missiles. This earned the county the title of "Missile Center of the United States."

Another title worn by Kimball County was "Nebraska's Oil Capitol." In the early 1980s, more than 1,400 active wells were operating across the county.

In addition to the railroad, the Kincaid Act of 1904 was credited with bringing many settlers to the area, primarily farmers. The native buffalo and gramma grass made cattle feeding a natural for the Kimball County area, while the rick, black loam soil proved good for farming.

Kimball County has had two courthouses. The first was built in 1890 and was used until 1928. In addition to housing the offices of local government, the building was the scene of many of the county's social activities. In 1928 the current courthouse opened. Built of Carthage stone, with floors of Ozark gray marble and fixtures made of solid walnut, the courthouse cost $180,000.