Skip to main content

Nebraska Counties Explorer

Loup County

Loup County Seat (pop.): Taylor (141)

Courthouse Address and Hours:

408 4th Street
Taylor, Nebraska 68879
M-TH 8:30 am - 5:00 pm & 8:30 am - 12:00 pm Friday

County Board Chairperson: Donald Brown

Complete list of county board members

County Board Meetings: 2nd Wednesday

View the County's Government Maps

Visit the County Fairgrounds

NACO District: Central

District President: Royce Gonzales, Nuckolls County Clerk of the District Court

District Vice President: Carrie Miller, Nuckolls County Clerk, Register of Deeds, Election Commissioner 

District Secretary/Treasurer: Kali Bolli, Garfield County Assessor

NACO Board Representatives: Diana Hurlburt, Garfield County Commissioner

Click for a live look at Loup County (south of Taylor)


Population: 604
Land area (sq. mi.): 563.52
Population per square mile: 1.1


White: 94.5%
African American: 1.3%
American Indian: 0.2%
Asian: 0.3%
Hispanic: 3.6%
Native Hawaiian and Pacific Islander: 0.0%


0-17: 18.7%
18-64: 53.3%
65+: 28.0%


Personal income per capita: $69,695
% of Population in Poverty: 15.1%
# of Housing Units: 424
Owner-occupied rate: 75.3%
Median home price: $97,090


Access to broadband (100 Mbps via fiber or cable modem): 55.9%

Sources: National Association of RealtorsNebraska Library Commission, U.S. Bureau of Economic AnalysisU.S. Census Bureau

Employment, Schools, and Child Care

Unemployment rate: 2.2% (as of September 2022)

County Employment Website:

High school graduate or higher: 98.2%

Bachelor's degree or higher: 20.6%

School Districts: Loup County Public Schools, Sandhills Public Schools, Sargent Public Schools

Loup County Economy

Annual Gross Domestic Product (2020): $32,317,000

Ag. Producers (Cattle): 67

Ag. Producers (Crop): 46

Grain Co-ops and Purchasers: AGP, Aurora Cooperative, CHS, CPI, Central Valley Ag, Fairfield Non-Stock Co-op, Farmers Coop, Gottsch Cattle Company, KAAPA Ethanol, Pillen Family Farms

Local Grain Market: Click for today's grain prices in Loup County

Electricity Providers: Custer PPD

Sources: National Agricultural Statistics Service (USDA), Nebraska Cooperative Council, Nebraska Coordinating Commission for Postsecondary EducationNebraska Department of TransportationNebraska Office of the CIO, Nebraska Power Review Board, U.S. Bureau of Economic AnalysisU.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics, U.S. Census Bureau

2022 Levies and Valuation

County levy rate: $0.2225 per $100 of taxable valuation

County property taxes levied: $729,695

Total local government property taxes levied: $3,554,194

Total countywide taxable valuation: $327,952,070

Click here for all levy rates in Loup County

County Levy and Taxation Laws

Levy limits

Since 1996, counties and other political subdivisions have been subject to the levy limits listed in Neb. Rev. Stat. § 77-3442 and Neb. Rev. Stat. § 77-3443.

Statutes and regulations

Nebraska Revised Statutes (Chapter 77)

Nebraska Administrative Code (Title 350)

Local tax reductions, exemptions, and credits

Neb. Rev. Stat. § 76-902(5)(a) (Deed "stamp tax" exemption): "The [stamp tax] shall not apply to: ... (5)(a) Deeds between spouses, between ex-spouses for the purpose of conveying any rights to property acquired or held during the marriage, or between parent and child, without actual consideration therefor."

Neb. Rev. Stat. § 77-201(2) (Valuation of agricultural land and horticultural land): "Agricultural land and horticultural land as defined in section 77-1359 shall constitute a separate and distinct class of property for purposes of property taxation, shall be subject to taxation, unless expressly exempt from taxation, and shall be valued at seventy-five percent of its actual value, except that for school district taxes levied to pay the principal and interest on bonds that are approved by a vote of the people on or after January 1, 2022, such land shall be valued at fifty percent of its actual value."

Neb. Rev. Stat. § 77-6703(1) (Tax credit for school district taxes paid): "(1) For taxable years beginning or deemed to begin on or after January 1, 2020, under the Internal Revenue Code of 1986, as amended, there shall be allowed to each eligible taxpayer a refundable credit against the income tax imposed by the Nebraska Revenue Act of 1967 or against the franchise tax imposed by sections 77-3801 to 77-3807. The credit shall be equal to the credit percentage for the taxable year, as set by the department under subsection (2) of this section, multiplied by the amount of school district taxes paid by the eligible taxpayer during such taxable year."

Sources: Nebraska Department of Revenue

State Senator: Tom Brewer (District 43)
Committees: Agriculture, General Affairs, Government Military and Veterans Affairs, State-Tribal Relations

Map and statistics for Legislative District 43

Map of all districts in the Nebraska Unicameral Legislature

Loup County History

Number of Registered Historic Places: 2

Year Founded: 1883

Etymology: Loup River

Loup County may very well be the only county in Nebraska that can make the claim that local tax dollars were not used for the construction of the county's first courthouse.

When Loup County was officially organized on Feb. 23, 1883, a local rancher wanted to see the county seat remain in Taylor. He decided the best way to ensure this was to erect and donate a building to the county that could be used as a courthouse. The following year, a two-story, four-room building was completed and would serve as the courthouse for the next 74 years.

During that time, the building would deteriorate to the point that it would become known as Loup County's "winter icebox." In 1958, despite a court challenge, the county unveiled its present courthouse. Gone were the days when county officials would have to brave the extreme elements to go outdoors to pump drinking water or walk a half-block away to a building where "Men" and "Women" signs were posted outside.

Loup County was originally created in 1855 and included land as far east as the present day Colfax County. The county received its name from the Loup River, which cuts across the southwest corner of the present county. In the northeast sector of this Sandhills County is the Calamus River, which empties into the Calamus Reservoir, the state's third largest lake located about 15 miles northeast of Taylor.

Before Taylor would become the official county seat, a fierce struggle developed between Taylor and the settlements of Kent, Almeria and Clarke's Point. In a special election conducted in May 1883, Taylor was chosen over Almeria by a mere two votes.

Several famous names in Nebraska history have a link to Loup County. First, Amos Harris, said to be Nebraska's first black cowboy, and his wife, Eliza, at one time ranged cattle in the North Loup Valley. It is also said that "Doc" Middleton and "Kid" Wade, notorious cattle and horse rustlers, operated out of the Loup County area in its earliest days.

Highlight an important program in your county in this space! Send an email to:

License Plate Number: 88

Time Zone: Central

Zoned County: Yes

Number of Veterans: 32

Voter Turnout (2022): 65.34%

Emergency Mgt. Planning, Exercise and Training (PET) Region: North Central/Sandhills

Number of County-Owned Bridges: 9

State Lands (acres): Calamus Reservoir WMA (9,942 Garfield & Loup), Kent Diversion Dam WMA (194), Myrtle E. Hall WMA (1,960 Custer & Loup)

Federal Lands (acres): Kent Diversion Dam Operations (87)

Sources: Nebraska Department of Transportation, Nebraska Emergency Management AgencyNebraska Game & Parks CommissionNebraska LegislatureNebraska Office of the CIONebraska Secretary of StateU.S. Department of Veterans Affairs, U.S. National Archives and Records Administration (eCFR)